South Kintyre candidates confirmed

Westport Beach

The candidates standing for election in the Argyll and Bute Council South Kintyre ward have now been confirmed.

There is one vacant seat in the South Kintyre ward and the by-election takes place on 2 November 2023.

The election candidates are listed below in alphabetical order by surname:

  • Joe Cunningham (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)
  • Jennifer Kelly (Independent)
  • Kenny MacKenzie (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Alan McManus (For Future’s Sake – Freedom Alliance)
  • John Richardson (Scottish National Party)

Since 2007, councillors in Scotland have been elected using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. This allows voters to express a preference for more than one candidate by ranking them in order.  

Information about how to mark your vote is provided on your polling card/your postal voting pack and within polling stations. This doesn’t tell you who to vote for, but shows you how to mark your choices correctly on your ballot paper on the day or on your postal vote. 

Find the list of candidates and more information about the Argyll and Bute Council by-election at SLG Notice of poll and situation of polling stations ( editorially warning – you can also find the list of polling stations which will be used for this by-election on the same webpage. 

More council news